Oh Baby Baby….Photo Shoot

Add Media

My neighbor just had a baby a couple of months ago.  Seeing this as an opportunity, I went and asked her if I could have a baby photo shoot at my house.  She said yes…twice.  The first time, we tried it when the newborn was  just a few weeks old.  I didn’t quite capture the shot. Even after two of my own, managing a new born baby is somewhat intimadating, especially when you have to move and bend them into position.  It also didn’t help that I was rushing through the whole thing.

The second round went a lot better.  For one, the baby was a lot older and I was more comfortable after the first trial.  I took my time in comforting the child and waiting for the right opportunity.  For the setup, I used a piece of cardboard and a white microfiber blanket for the backdrop.  Then I set up pillows on a kid’s rectangular table and covered it with the blanket.  I had it set up facing the double doors to my living room balcony where there were ample lighting.  This time, I brought out my space heater and cranked it up to about 9O.  The heater served as a white noise maker as well.  It had taken us 1 hour and two feedings for the baby to completely fall asleep. For equipment, I had my DSLR 60D, my 50mm 1.8, and my YuongNuo external flash.  I had my setting at an aperture of 4, and ISO 400.

I had a few ideas of what I wanted to try for the photos.  I was trying to do this technique where you prop the baby’s chin up with their arms.  Even though I read up on it, I could not for the life of me get the baby’s head to sit up correctly.  Finally the mom suggested holding up the baby’s head underneath the blanket, this worked pretty well.  I think the baby’s head was a little too heavy to be propped up.  By the time the session was done, I had taken about 2 hours and I was sweating.  I totally underestimated how easy this whole process is.

Overall, I am pretty happy with the pictures.  I did some post processing in lightroom and decide to keep the pictures nice and clean looking.  I have learned several things from this shoot.  1. A down side to using my 50 mm is that I cannot zoom out so the baby is a little bigger than I like in the shoots.  2.  I want to try some more interesting background.

It was fun, I felt like I had a good experience and will definitely do it again.   What do you think of the post production?  Is it overdone?  I have a hard time knowing how much to change.  In reality, the baby had flaky skin and a reddish tint to him, how much do I change to make him pretty?  I would love for any feedback from baby photographers.  Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

