Learning Curve for a New Photographer

I remember clearly the first time photography grabbed my interest.  I was reading a blog one day and was thoroughly impressed by the photos on the site.  The pictures were clear, crisp, and attention grabbing; the color was vibrant and the content was journalistic in nature.  I remember really liking the photos and it stirred up something wonderful inside.

At that point I had only known about point and shoot cameras so I did some research and got introduced into the world of photography.  Like many newbies, the thought process was this, “if only I had a nice DSLR then I could do portraits like a professional.” For my first baby shower, instead of asking for clothes and such, I asked my friends to chip in for my first Canon Rebel and that was how it all got started.

So I started with the first Canon Rebel (body only) and I bought a 50mm 1.8.  The first time I shot with my camera, I had it on auto mode and we shot at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.  The weather was perfect and pictures came out amazingly clear and with the perfect amount of bokeh.  From that point on, I shot here and there with my camera but I wasn’t entirely ready to put in the work and learn all there is to learn about photography.  Part of the reason was that photography is hard.  As a perfectionist, I want to get things right the first time and as you all know, there is a learning curve with photography.

4 years later (about two years ago), I was thinking about what I wanted to do with my life if Ben (my husband) died.  This led me to ponder the question, “what is it that I am passionate about?”  I have a degree in nutrition but I clearly know that is not what I want to do with my life.  I love photography but I also know the market is saturated with “photographers”  or people with nice cameras, and I would just be one of them.

One day, my husband was reading a book about success and talent.  He shared that most successes come with hard work rather than raw talent; in order for someone to be successful at something, they must put in a large amount of hours to learn the skills.  I don’t know what it was but something inside of me clicked.  Maybe it was a sense of conviction; I knew that I had never devoted myself to anything that required a lot of time and energy.  Like many others, I had wanted to be good at something without working hard to get it.  Knowing that motivated me to take on a new challenge.  I got my camera out and was determined to give it a good fight before I call it quits.  And that is where I am in the present.

Leave a Reply

